Life as a Hawk

Official blog of the Xaverian Hawk

Ski Club 2011 Recap

Leave a comment

By John Regan ’14

My name is John Regan and I am a freshman at Xaverian Brothers High School. At the beginning of the school year, I knew right away that I was going to join Ski Club. I have been skiing my whole life and I absolutely love it.

XBHS

The first ski trip we went on was to Okemo Mountain in Vermont. It was still pretty early in the season, but they managed to have 65 trails open. The conditions were great and the lines were short. My friends and I had a blast! The second trip we went on was to Mount Sunapee in New Hampshire. Mount Sunapee was a little smaller than Okemo, but they had the best terrain park I’ve ever been to. Every jump was perfectly groomed. Once again, the conditions were great!

For the third trip, we went on to Waterville Valley, also in New Hampshire. Waterville was my favorite of the trips so far. Basically all of the trails were open as well as the glades. The last trip we went on was to Attitash Mountain. Attitash had a ton of trails open. The conditions were the best so far because of the warmth. That was my first time ever skiing in March and it was awesome. It was so warm I didn’t even need my jacket. Since it was the last ski trip we made a stop at the Pizza Barn before going home. It was a lot of fun there and they had great pizza.

A lot of the kids going on the trip already own skis. I was not one of them. The rentals at every mountain were quick and easy and they didn’t cut into the amount of time you ski. Another great thing about the Xaverian Ski Trips is that, they allow anyone to take either a half-day or even a full-day lesson. This is great if you have never skied before, or if you are just looking to improve. Overall, I had a lot of fun during the trips this year and can’t wait until next year.

XBHS

XBHS

XBHS

XBHS

Leave a Reply

